top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAva Jafari

Nonsurgical Rhinoplasty is Key

Updated: Sep 21, 2020

This past week marked the first week of my ISM II journey. I’m super excited to be continuing my experiences with the same mentor as last year and to broaden my knowledge in facial plastic surgery in particular.

This year, I wanted to focus solely on facial plastic surgery due to Dr. Cain’s expertise and the fact that I enjoyed learning about facial aesthetic practices more. Because of this, I completed my first research assessment this past week over the hyaluronic acid filler and the nonsurgical rhinoplasty procedure.

I have always been interested in filler rhinoplasty due to its capabilities and accessibility for many prospective plastic surgery patients. The hyaluronic acid component allows for a minimized risk of complications and can be reversed through hyaluronidase. Although it is not permanent, the rise in its popularity can be attributed to its nonsurgical characteristics as well as the fact that its results are almost immediate. The article also discussed many terms regarding the aesthetics of the nose such as ideal nose shape, nasofacial angle, the glabella, and the radix. I really enjoyed learning about these certain terms, as they reoccur often in procedures that involve dermal fillers and neuromodulators.

Determining an ideal nose shape for individuals is also another aspect that I believe is extremely important and interesting in facial plastic surgery that I would love to see more of in person and during my mentor visits. I definitely am thinking ahead and would love to know more about how plastic surgeons determine the ideal nose shape for a variety of patients with different nose types. How does a plastic surgeon reduce a bulbous tip? How do plastic surgeons reduce a nasal dorsal hump? I hope to learn more about the answers to these questions and can potentially view my original work relating towards surgical and nonsurgical rhinoplasties.

Overall, I plan on delving deeper into the rhinoplasty aspect of facial plastic surgery and am excited to learn more about the specific steps needed in order to create the ideal nose for every patient.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page