top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAva Jafari

Nonsurgical Rhinoplasty... But in Person!

Before going on winter break, I had a mentor visit with Dr. Cain. At the mentor visit, I had the chance to view a Botox procedure where Dr. Cain injected the patient’s glabella and crow’s feet area. However, what was most exciting for me was watching the patient undergo a nonsurgical rhinoplasty to alter the patient’s crooked nose.

After completing my original work in regards to nonsurgical rhinoplasties, I was eager to see how Dr. Cain would alter the appearance of the patient’s nose and thought about how he would need to insert filler in the crevices of the deviation. I also wanted to view how he would insert filler onto the bridge of the nose to create a straighter nasal profile. Dr. Cain also asked the patient if she had done the procedure before, to which she replied that she had so the patient had some experience with nonsurgical rhinoplasties. There was an area of the nose where the patient described that she had the most pain which was the columella region. Even after Dr. Cain applied numbing cream to that area, the patient still winced once Dr. Cain injected that site. Through seeing that reaction, I thought about whether a patient’s sensitivity to a certain area is prone to independent factors or if there are specific areas that are more susceptible to pain than others. I predict that there are areas of the nose that have more nerves and are more sensitive towards the needle, therefore, those areas will cause some pain for patients regardless of the strength of the numbing cream.

Overall, I loved getting the chance to watch Dr. Cain perform a nonsurgical rhinoplasty as well as Botox procedure. I’m excited to get the opportunity to watch more in the future and can’t wait to see what new procedures I get to witness as I look for inspiration for my final product!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page