top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAva Jafari

Digging Deep into Botox

For ISM this past week, I did not have the chance to go on a mentor visit. However, I did do a research assessment over an aspect of facial plastic surgery that would help me tremendously in the development of my final product.

My research assessment was a detailed and complex analysis of Botox and how it works by binding to certain receptors on presynaptic cells and blocking the release of a chemical known as acetylcholine. Because I planned for my final product to do a patient simulation over a Botox patient, I knew I wanted to dig deeper into the specific aspects of Botox and how they directly limit the appearance of wrinkles. Through my research assessment, I learned that there are seven types of Botox, but Botox A is the primary type of Botox that is used for cosmetic procedures. I also learned that the Botox toxin comes from a type of bacterium and that it results in temporary muscle paralysis. My research regarding the article also allowed me to learn the standard amount of units of Botox that is used in the glabella region that I plan on emulating for my final product. Furthermore, the post procedural notes and information pertaining to how long Botox lasts was extremely helpful for me to incorporate into my patient sheet in order for my simulation to be as accurate as possible.

Doing this research assessment taught me a substantial amount of information about the details of how Botox is utilized and the specific ways it impacts the functionality of muscles and reduced wrinkles. By applying this information, my final product will demonstrate clear knowledge of the field and it will also help me see the direct effect that certain neuromodulators have for patients in the realm of facial plastic surgery.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page