top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAva Jafari

A New Consultation

This past week in ISM I got the chance to go on a mentor visit. During my mentor visit with Dr. Cain, I discussed with him my ideas for the final product. After working on my original work that revolved around nonsurgical rhinoplasties, I wanted my final product to be a bit different but I also wanted it to have a more real world focus and application. As a result, I drafted my notes that included my ideas for what I wanted to achieve with my final product.

I planned an idea that I had where I would create a mock patient consultation and write down everything I would do and how I would approach a patient who is interested in either Botox, dermal filler, or a nonsurgical rhinoplasty. After talking with Dr. Cain, he said that the idea would be logical and that it would work well for my final product. Subsequently, I got to watch Dr. Cain during a consultation with a patient who had keloids behind both of her ears.

Right after the consultation, I saw Dr. Cain tend to a patient who had just had a type of lesion removed from her upper lip. He discussed with me that they did not know what the lesion was, but after it came back from pathology, they discovered that it was a hidrocystoma. This was the first time that I had seen a pathology report during a consultation. It was really interesting for me to view how one would go about diagnosing a lesion of this caliber and to see how the result of a report would indicate that there was no severity to the deformity. Furthermore, Dr. Cain showed me about an O to T flap that he used in order to allow for the smallest amount of scarring after the removal.

Overall, through discussing my final product plans and learning about new discoveries at consultations, I am excited to continue my research and understanding of different aspects of the facial plastic surgery field and can’t wait to discover what’s to come!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page